Exploring sounds

This week was an open exploration week with Sound.  I found that I referred to the PEEP science curriculum more than usual.  I really like its simple definitions of timbre, volume and pitch. These ready definitions helped me simplify my explanations for the children. The recommended activities are also plentiful and I want to try them all! I started with just a few. …

Here, Victor explores one of the interesting instruments available in our science center. Victor noticed that each tube of the xylophone makes a different sound. It depends how big they are, he surmised. Long ones sound more like other long ones. Small ones sound different.

Recording voices was another popular activity.  I included a small digital recorder, which was simple enough for the children to operate without adult assistance.  In this picture, Victor is playing back a recording he made of Xavier’s voice. Xavier is delighted and says, That was me. I heard what I said! 

 

Here Iliana is closing her eyes and listening very hard as Destiny makes one of 5 different sounds from behind the painting. It’s the frog! she exclaims, and she is correct! Everyone had a turn to be the sound-maker and the sound-guesser.

I think it’s a rain stick, guessed Angel when Xavier made his sound.  Triangle! guessed Sulexy as Chenniel tapped the metal triangle.

I created the game of “Listening Cans” many years ago by saving 12 identically shaped cans. I filled them with different sounding material: coins, salt, a rubber ball, water, a bell, and gravel, making sure there were two cans with each item.  It was important to add the same amount of each item, too, so they were sure to sound alike. I then covered the cans with tape so there would be no distinguishing features. The children’s challenge was to “Shake and Match” by listening. I now see that educational toy manufacturers are making these shakers, and a colleague lent me one she’d purchased. The children used both sets with equal interest. The advantage of the manufactured set is that they are self-correcting because they have a transparent end. The disadvantage is that children often can’t resist peeking before guessing. (The other advantage of the teacher-made set is that it’s free.)

Lilly ‘s strategy for finding a matching pair was to shake one can at each ear.

Jonathan said, Yay! I found 2 that rhyme!  When I asked him what he meant by that he responded, They sound the same!

We are looking forward to more sound exploration next week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

